Thanksgiving Thanks

thanksgivingthankspost

Hello my friends!!

So, today is Thanksgiving. In my culture, this is not very celebrated, but when in Rome… hehe. So I will jump on the bandwagon and tell you 25 things I am thankful for on this day.

1. I am thankful for being at UTD

UTD has been my home for the past two years and a half, and here I have met many friends who I now consider family, and the love of my life. I have been exposed to many different things I never new I would do, and I have learned so much I don’t know if my brain can hold much more. I am thankful to UTD for accepting me, and allowing me to grow in such a great environment.

2. I am thankful for Rudolph

Rudolph is our car. We got him a couple of days after moving to the U.S. When my parents, my brother and I got here, we literally only had a suitcase each, and that was it. We had to crash with some friends, and the next day we went and bought Rudolph. He saved us from so much, and he has never left us stranded. Eventually, when I moved to Dallas and met HIM<3, we asked my dad to sell Rudolph to us. I used to have to take the bus to school and to work and in the rain/cold/snow, it completely sucks, but Rudolph came to save the day, and I am very grateful for having him. BTW: his name is Rudolph because we bought him during the Holiday season, he takes us everywhere, and I really want to buy him the car antlers and nose :3 !)

3. I am thankful for my Harry Potter books

When I was smaller, I saw the first Harry Potter movie. I had no clue they were actually books, and I found that out until after I watched the third movie. I desperately wanted to read the books, as I have always been a reader, but I could not afford to buy them. I kept asking to borrow them from friends, but the people who could buy them did not read, and the people who read could not buy them. Even worse, the public library in Mexico is not very efficient, so I could not ‘check them out’. It wasn’t until I was in college that I was able to afford buying my Harry Potter book collection, and I have read them many times over.

4. I am thankful for the lab

I have been a research assistant in UTD since the Spring Semester, and I can tell you I love every bit of it. I have learned many techniques that, as a scientist, are very important. I have understood many brain processes in the lab that have helped me understand my classes better. I even discovered what I want to do with my degree (research and teaching) and what I want to research! I have learned a lot about myself and others by being here, and I have acquired skills that help me grow as a person. I am thankful of being allowed to do this while learning about something I love.

5. I am thankful for my ‘cave’

In our apartment, I have a cloffice. I actually call it my cave. I have all of my stationary/craft supplies, and a little desk. I have books that did not fit in the big bookshelf, and that is where I give my online ESL classes from. I love how, because it is tiny, the sound gets contained, and the person on the other side of Skype hears me perfectly clear. I like how the table is small enough to be able to fit a drawer cart, but big enough to fit my laptop perfectly. I just love my cloffice! And I am thankful for having a nice space to deal with work and classes.

6. I am thankful for contact lenses

I actually have very bad eyesight. My prescription stands at -7.5, and to put it in context, when you reach -8, they do not let you have laser surgery anymore (at least in Mexico…). So yes, I have bad eyesight. When I wore glasses, I could not run because they kept moving up and down and would get me very dizzy in a matter of seconds. Then, when it rained, I could never look up. If I did, the glasses would get wet and I couldn’t see anything, and I would fall. If I took them off, I would not see anything either and would fall again. I loved the rain, but I was never able to be outside in the rain because I could not see. At all. For my 15th birthday my parents bought me contacts. The day of my birthday it rained. I did not go inside the house for hours. My friends kept telling me I looked like a little kid, but it was the first time I was able to see rain while being IN the rain. Yes, we got sick from playing in the rain, but I am grateful for my contacts because they allowed me to see this for the first time.

7. I am thankful for the trees at UTD

As most of you know, going to college is quite expensive. Some colleges are more expensive than others, and this is specially marked when comparing a school in the state you live in, with a school in a different state. When I was applying to colleges, I knew I was staying in Texas. There was just no way I could go out-of-state, but I also wanted to go as far north as I could. I just really wanted to see the leaves change color, they don’t in Mexico. In UTD, the several trees are already turning orange. Actually, the trees right outside my lab (where I basically live, anyways) are beautifully orange. I uploaded a picture to my instagram! The trees look simply beautiful, and I could have chosen a better place to see the trees change color.

8. I am thankful for my cappuccinos

Back in Mexico, I would always buy these little baggies of cappuccino coffee powder. I just had to heat up some milk and pour the powder onto the mug. It was heaven! Specially because it is quite cheap 😉 I love having a cup of coffee in the mornings while I read. Specially next to the balcony at our apartment. We have a poolview, and right next to the pool, there is a bunch of trees, so I can see the leaves, the wind moving them and the water, and the squirrels running around. It makes me extremely happy.

9. I am thankful for pets

Even though my pets don’t live with me right now, (the apartment is kind of small and they would not be happy) my parents take care of my kitties and my brother’s dog. They send me pictures every once in a while, and they always tell me about the random funny things they do. Once, Nidalee was trying to ‘hunt’ Carbon’s wagging tail, but she ended up only attacking the fur, so her paw slid through and she hit herself in the face xD We really do not deserve pets, but we have them anyways, and I am thankful for that! (Note: If you do not know who Nidalee or Carbon are, my about page shows you!)

10. I am thankful for Netflix

You have no clue how many things from my childhood are on Netflix. You have no clue how many new things are on Netflix. You have no clue how many date nights we thought about cancelling because we could not spend, but were saved thanks to Netflix! You have no clue how many cuddle I have gotten in front of a screen playing Netflix. You have no clue how many laughs I have had in front of Netflix, or how many tears have been shed xD You have no clue how movies and shows connect my family, (specially superhero movies xD ) and how many lazy weekends we have literally just plopped ourselves in front of Netflix and had the time of our lives. Thank you Netflix!

11. I am thankful for my sweaters

Fall is my favorite season. I life Fall because it is cool, but it’s not freezing. I do not like hot weather and I do not like sweating, but during the Fall, everything is perfect! And it is all perfect, because I have my sweaters. Specially my Perry the Platypus sweater, my Cookie Monster sweater, and HIS<3 sweater that got accidentally shrunk on the dryer and ended up fitting me perfectly! I love having sweaters and I love having my hands in sweater pockets, and having HIS<3 hands in my sweater pockets. I love sweaters.

12. I am thankful for my ballerina flats

Want to be comfy? Want to look cute? Want to not have cold in your feet? Want to not be hot in your feet? Want to just have shoes that can casual down a very formal outfit, or fancy up a pair of jeans and blouse? Ballerina flats! They just make life so much easier! And you don’t have to worry about the grass being wet, or the mosquitoes getting your feet with the sandals! And they go well with basically anything! The only thing I don’t wear them with is sweatpants, but you have tennis shoes for that! Beautiful Ballerina flats! *w*

13. I am thankful for fuzzy socks

I mean, do I really have to explain that one? xD Who does not love the soft fluffiness of fuzzy socks? They keep you warm on the coldest nights and look adorable. I rest my case.

14. I am thankful for small gestures

You know that time when you are running late, and the bus driver sees you and waits a whole extra 10 seconds for you to get on? Or how about that time when your hands are full and someone opens the door for you? And that one cold day when you took a shower and your SO put your towel in the dryer for a couple minutes and it was warm when you put it around your body? Those small things that show us people care for us, and do not mind doing that extra thing for you. Thank you. Just, thank you!

15. I am thankful for good timing

I don’t know about you, but I love when things just work out. When your favorite song comes on in the radio, and as soon as you are pulling into your parking spot, it ends, and it was perfectly timed. Or when you take a picture of your puppy, and at that precise moment he looks into the camera. Finding a friend while walking to class, receiving a text from the person you were just about to text yourself. Finding your soulmate, just when you were starting to give up on love. Perfect timing.

16. I am thankful for funny jokes

Here goes my favorite joke at the moment:

A bear walks into a bar in Billings, Montana and sits down. He bangs on the bar with his paw and demands a beer. The bartender approaches and says, “We don’t serve beer to bears in bars in Billings.” The bear, becoming angry, demands again that he be served a beer. The bartender tells him again, more forcefully, “We don’t serve beer to belligerent bears in bars in Billings.” The bear, very angry now, says, “If you don’t serve me a beer, I’m going to eat that lady sitting at the end of the bar.” The bartender says, “Sorry, we don’t serve beer to belligerent, bully bears in bars in Billings.” The bear goes to the end of the bar, and as promised, eats the woman. He comes back to his seat and again demands a beer. The bartender states, “Sorry, we don’t serve beer to belligerent, bully bears in bars in Billings who are on drugs.” The bear says, “I’m NOT on drugs.” The bartender says, “You are now. That was a barbitchyouate!”

Note: this is MY definition of funny, but you get the idea! xD

17. I am thankful for that super easy and delicious go-to recipe

Because at times when you forget to cook the day before, or you simple don’t have time, and you just know that today will be THAT day when you eat your favorite super-quick recipe. For me, it’s tuna, with kernel corn and mayo in saltine crackers. What’s yours?

18. I am thankful for a good dance

I have never been a sports person, I can’t even run because of my knee problem, and maybe from my glasses-wearing-years I still get dizzy, but I have always been a dancer. And it is awesome when you lose yourself in a dance. Any type of dance! I met HIM<3 dancing Salsa. I have dance Aztec since I was 12. And I opened a Belly Dance club in UTD… Just, dancing. And not only dancing, but the whole work up towards dancing. When you know you are going dancing, and you are playing music since you are taking a shower and getting ready and just going over some cool moves. *sighs* dance!

19. I am thankful for long showers

I mean… what can I say? Relaxation, warm steam, nice hot water… You know what? Excuse me… I am going to take a shower… x3

20. I am thankful for Bubble Wrap!

If you ever ask me why I order so much random stuff online, even if I never use the stuff, the answer is bubble wrap! That feeling you get when you have popped EVERY SINGLE BUBBLE….. Priceless.

21. I am thankful for finding things

I was cleaning out my closet the other day. I found this box and I had absolutely no idea what was inside. I was even scared of opening it thinking it might be something that went bad… When I did, I found stuff from a long time ago. I found notes I passed with my friends back in High School. I found the student portraits from my friends in Middle School. I found a bracelet my friend from Elementary gave me. I found the earrings I wore for my XV birthday. I found a seashell from the first time I went to the beach, and a rock from a Volcano from a trip I took. I found MONEY!!

22. I am thankful for my headphones

When I started going to the lab, I was given a desk. This desk, is right next to the door. This door is the most common door in the whole building, and I have a lot of problems keeping my attention in one thing. So, every time I was at my desk doing something, someone would open the door and I would look up. I spent more time looking up than doing my things. The problem is, all the other desks were being used. So HE<3 took matters into his own hands, and surprised me with awesome headphones that cancel outside sound. Not only can I now focus, but the headphones he got me are the fancy ones that do not fall off my ears! LOVE HIM<3

23. I am thankful for good people

After this election, I saw an increase in aggressive behavior. Some of it aimed at me, some aimed at my friends, some not actually aimed but not completely thought-through comments… I did not like it at all. But, every time something like this happened, I was fortunate enough to witness/be somebody who stood up for the attacked person. I defended people, people defended me. I am so proud of the moral responsibility that people still have, and I am proud to say that even if this year’s president-elect gives people the idea that being rude is ok, there is people that know better and will defend those values.

24. I am thankful for my family

I am so blessed. I am blessed because I have an awesome family that always supports me and helps me grow. I have the type of family I want to have someday. I have a mother that loves me, a father that spoils me, a brother that tolerates me (haha jk). But most importantly, I have them. They are here. I can say they are here. And that is in and of itself the biggest thing to be thankful for. I love how my brother can turn any blue moment into a moment where my face hurts with laughter. I love how my mom always knows what to say, either to comfort, to teach, or to enjoy. I love how my father always has a solution to everything, and knows how to help me when I do not know what my next steps will be. I love how my parents still go out and spoil each other like a young couple who just started dating, but also show the wisdom of many years of marriage, many ups and downs, and many perfect moments. I love them. I am thankful for having them.

25. I am thankful for HIM<3

HE<3 is my best friend, my confidant, my partner in crime, my MEOW<3, the love of my life. And I found him. And he found me. And we are together, strong, well, healthy, happy, and what I believe to be a bright future. How could I not be thankful for him!? If I love him and he loves me!? What can I say? I’m in love… ❤

What are you thankful for?

-Yesenia

Leave a Reply

